Garnet Valley Image

Guidance Curriculum

Developmental Guidance is one of our students' special area classes.
Counselors meet with each class once a week for two of the year's three trimesters. 

Our curriculum can be categorized into three main areas. 

  • Personal/Social Development
    • social-emotional learning
    • communication/interpersonal skills
    • social thinking
    • expected v. unexpected behaviors
    • labeling feelings
    • managing emotions
    • effective problem solving
    • self-esteem

  • Academic Integration
    • study skills and test-taking strategies
    • time management and organizational skills
    • educational goal setting and self reflection
    • middle school transition (5th grade)

  • Career Exploration
    • purpose of school
    • explore various careers
    • gain career awareness
    • compare personal interests and strengths to workers in the global community
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.